Marathon Training Week 2 Rewind

29 Jul

Another week has gone by and more miles were covered. This week’s training was pretty much the same except for the added miles on Sunday. I did one of my training runs in Georgetown during my lunch break. I knew I was spending my afternoon at my desk in the workroom which meant no customer interaction. This was a free ticket to  being gross and sweaty. I also want to do a lot of running in Georgetown because of the hilly terrain in the town will hopefully prepare me for the mountainous terrain in Greece.

I’ve been trying to stay motivated both mentally and physically. The problem I’ve had in the past is mainly staying focused and faithful to my training. I often tend to skip runs if the weather isn’t perfect or if I’m tired or if I don’t want to get up early. So in order to keep my mind on the prize, I’ve been reading up on running, races, and runners from all levels. One runner I came across is Orville Rogers – a 95 year-old track and field record holder. Orville has 5 key rules to stay focused and injury-free:

  1. As far as training goes, listen to your body. Don’t go too fast or too far.
  2. When you’re upping your training, increase your speed or distance, not both.
  3. Look at the records and then make a goal for yourself that you think you can do.
  4. Visualize, and when you visualize, picture yourself breaking those records.
  5. Never give up.

These rules can be applied to any runner training for any distance. After reading these rules, I find myself thinking of #2 often on my long runs – I need to remember to take it very slowly. I always want to run faster and at a pace that my legs cannot maintain. Then comes the blow  out…

I am determined to not let this happen during this training session. Here is my motto:

slow and steady

 

Leave a Reply

