Marathon Training: Week 1 Rewind

24 Jul

I always love the beginning of event training. Everything is so relaxed and easy. I look forward to completing my training sessions because I know it won’t take me very long. Starting small also gives your mind a nice break too. I know I won’t be out for long hours so I don’t have much mental preparation to do in order to pump myself up for a 20 or 25 kilometre run.

This was my week 1:

Monday: Cross train 30 minutesTuesday: Jog 40 minutes
Wednesday: 6 X 400 metres at 2:05 – 2:15
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Jog 30 minutes
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 7 miles at 10:40 – 11:10

I nailed week 1! I love the flexibility and it’s not always “get out there and run.” I find running for a specific time difficult as I’ve never trained using that method. I find myself constantly looking at my watch. I have had to tell myself not to look at my watch because there is never as much time that has elapsed as one thinks.

My 7 miles went well. The highlight of that run was an old man yelling “BIMBO!” to a female driver who was turning right without looking for pedestrians. There were two of us. How do you miss that? Anyway, things like that don’t bother me as I’ve become distrustful towards drivers. I don’t assume they see me which is a rather basic sense of self preservation. I digress. I can spend a whole post discussing the relationship between drivers/pedestrians, drivers/cyclists, and cyclists/pedestrians.

But after a well run 7m, I was entitled to a peach flavoured iced tea beer.

Iced teaMark and I visited a new Beer Store on the weekend and I noticed this tasty gem. It was rather tasty and very peachy.

I wonder if they’ll be serving this beer at the finish line in Greece, though? marathon beer

 

Leave a Reply

