Runners in Bloom

5 May

Runners in Canada are sort of like flowers in the spring. They start to sprout out of their homes, slowly at first, testing the weather, and when it has been gauged fair enough, they are out in full bloom. Of course, not all Canadian runners hibernate during the winter. But there does seem to be a greater number of runners when the sun brings some warm weather.

daffodil

That being said, I am very happy to be wearing less layers on my runs. I feel lighter as though I am running faster. Oh wait, I think I am running faster. All that winter training totally paid off. I ran a 23 minute 5k on Wednesday and a 50 minute 10km this morning. I am so ready for the Chocolate Race next Sunday.

What is the Chocolate Race, you ask? It is a 5k, 10k or 10m race with chocolate along the course at different station. They have chocolate covered strawberries and marshmallows. And for the souls running the 10miler, they get a chocolate shot at the turn around. The Chocolate Race also boasts a pretty awesome chocolate party at the end – which is why I am running. Mark is also going to run and I can’t wait to indulge in the chocolate. I think it’s a pretty great way to spend a Sunday.

https://i1.wp.com/www.thechocolaterace.com/images/logo-choco-web-2013.jpg

I’m pretty sure there is still room for late registrations. Even if you can’t run or walk it, it’s worth a drive to St Catherines for the chocolate after-party. I will be sure to post plenty of pictures.

In other training news, half-Iron training is ever consistent. I had a panic moment in the pool last Monday and refused to finish my work out. Mark suggested the noon swim, instead of my usual 6am swim. I said ‘ok’ because a swim buddy is always nice. But for whatever reason, or maybe the noon swim is always like that, the pool was the place to be. We started our pyramid work out just great and had one other person join us. Soon after, our lane had six swimmers including us. It wasn’t just our lane that was busy, they were all busy! I dislike sharing a lane with more than four people. It gets too crowded, I feel pressure to swim fast than I can, and I start to panic. Then comes the anxiety.  Needless to say, I couldn’t exit the pool fast enough and hit the gym. At least my day wasn’t a complete waste. I’m looking forward to my regular swim time with my regular lane buddies.

Leave a Reply

