Energy Bites

30 Apr

I’m happy to announce that my hours (although not as many as Mark would have liked) on the trainer have paid off! I have completed two hill repeat sets – one last Tuesday and one today – and a long ride. Although the hill repeats were extremely hard and I felt my heart was going to explode out of my chest, the long ride was a lot of fun and I was proud when I finished the whole 56km. I know, strange kilometerage but I got a little lost which tacked on a few kilometres.

Of course, the trainer has prepped my muscles for long rides and holding myself up on the handle bars. It did not, however, prep me when I could not unclip my shoes fast enough. I had a pretty nasty fall with a couple of good scrapes and bruises to show for it. Nothing too damaging though.

With my biking and running right on course for where it should be in my training, I suppose I should mention a little something about swimming. I have been going to the pool early in the morning quite faithfully twice a week and debating whether I want to add a third swim. There is an other triathlete with whom I share a lane with who is good motivation. He is quite an experienced swimmer, friendly and offers great advice.

Since my swim workouts are early in the morning and I’m an a big breakfast eater, I am always looking for a good quick snack before my swim. I often turn to toast and peanut butter but sometimes I feel it is too filling. I recently came across these Energy Bites that are just the right amount of food for a morning swim.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup of rolled oats
  2. 1/2 cup peanut butter
  3. 1/2 cup of chocolate chips
  4. 1/2 cup of ground flaxseed
  5. 1/3 cup of honey or maple syrup

Mix all ingredients together and refrigerate for 1 hour. When chilled, roll mixture into 20 – 25 balls. Keep Energy Bites in an airtight container in the fridge.

DSC00996

Per serving: 86 calories; 8 gramsof  carbs; 5 grams of fat; 3 grams of protein; 2 grams of fiber; 4 grams of sugar.

Leave a Reply

