Toronto Yonge Street 10k Race Recap

25 Apr

On Sunday I ran the very fast and crowded Toronto Yonge Street 10k. I had no idea what to expect. I don’t know Toronto very well so I did not go into this race with high expectations. The more was bright and sunny but brisk. The expected high for the day was 7C so at the start line I think the temperature was hovering only around 2C. Needless to say, I was cold. Luckily the body heat of the other races around me at the start line was enough to keep me warm.

This was the first race I had ever run while listening to my iPod. I’m in the middle of reading a really good book (The Song of Achilles) and, by chance, I was able to find an audiobook copy. The Song of Achilles is about the relationship between Achilles and Patroclus and the Trojan War. As the starting gun went off, the narrator of the book began the telling of the first attack on the Trojans by the Greeks. It was the perfect. I felt like a Greek warrior incarnate. I know, how nerdy am I? But that push was just enough to get me through those 10 kilometres in 49 minutes.

DSC00993

The course was mostly downhill. Unfortunately there were not many cheering crowds/stations but there were three bands at different points along the course that were playing music. All three bands sounded awesome and it was a great momentary distraction.

I managed a negative split which is strange because I didn’t feel as strong in the second half of the race but I was obviously wrong. The overall organization during and after the race was great. There was a large finishing expo with lots of food, extra t-shirts or hats, and live music.

Leave a Reply

