A successful batch of hummus

18 Mar

I have struggled for months to make the perfect batch of hummus.  It’s either come out too dry, tasting too much of tahini or too garlicky. But in an attempt to curb all those problems I thought: “What if I added a bit of yogurt?” My goodness! The heavens themselves parted with that revelation! The result was the perfect mixture of flavours and consistency for veggie dunking and falafel spread.

DSC00959

Now that I have discovered the secret to perfect hummus, I will impart it onto to you: 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. That’s all!

I have now refocused my training to Half-Ironman training. Mark and I are doing the Peterborough Half-Tri in July. That does not give me much time to get my butt into shape so I need to focus on discipline. That wouldn’t be too much of a problem if the weather co-operated. It is now mid-March and we are still under winter storm warnings in the GTA. Although it is not heavy snow fall, it’s slush, ice pellets and freezing rain. Not really the kind of weather in which you want to spend much time. Regardless, I am in the midst of creating a training schedule that I will post here for anyone who is curious.

Most of my training for at least another month or so will be indoors in the pool or the bike trainer. Saturday afternoon I came home from work to my living room looking like this:

DSC00955If that’s not a big hint, I don’t know what is! Mark cycled for 3hrs whereas I did 1.5hrs. It was my second ride over an hour and I made an effort to stay in high gears than the previous ride. To stay motivated we watched a Tour of California stage with some high tempo music. I find that kind of audio and visual distracting very beneficial. I find my mind just turns off and I spin. But I need to be careful that might cadence does not drop in those instances.

I tried something new for dinner. I made a spaghetti squash casserole with roasted tomatoes, white kidney beans and garlic. It was delish!

DSC00961

To roast the toppings, marinate grape tomatoes, garlic and white kidney beans in 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and parsley for a few minutes. Then roast in the oven for 30 minutes. When both the mixture and spaghetti squash are done, toss them together and add a bit of Parmesan cheese. A great low-carb Sunday dinner.

Leave a Reply

