Winter running and race schedule

24 Jan

I’ve finally made a plan for the next six weeks for the half marathon. The plan includes lots of running but also a mix of swimming, biking, and strength training. I need to gain a base aerobic capacity when I start training 100% for the half ironman.

Despite a cold snap, I have not dropped a run all week. Except for this morning. In earnest, I tried to get out there. Heck, I even ran around the block but it was just too much. I had my foot warmers, 4 layers of tops, 2 layers of pants, hat, mitts and a scarf but the wind was just too cold on my face. I should have warn a balaclava!

DSC00879

Love these foot warmers! They work so well!

Anyway, I’m not letting that get me down. I did a little living room workout instead. I’m also glad to report that I feel like a runner again. I’m no longer struggling with/against myself when I run. My body is letting me run and I no longer feel stiff. That was a beautiful realization last night!

Mark and I sincerely miss Ottawa but, damn, living in the GTA is convenient! Everything is so close. It’s allowing me to participate in so many races this winter and spring!

March 3: Chilly Half Marathon

April 14: Georgetown 5k
April 21: Yonge St. 10k

May 18: Early Bird Triathlon (ok, this one is in Ottawa but Mark and I are doing this race again because we had so much fun last year and we’re using it as a vacation too!)

June 1: Moon in June 10k (a race at night – cool!)

July 7: Peterborough half – tri (half ironman, but not Ironman brand)

So that is one half of the year’s races. After  a busy few months, we’ll see how I feel about summer/fall races. I’ll be preparing for another marathon so I might just take it easy and concentrate of training.

2 Responses to “Winter running and race schedule”

  1. MedalSlut January 24, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m always afraid I’ll burst those things open with a heavy step and have weird heat chemicals cover, and burn, my feet….

    • Livin' active January 25, 2013 at 6:40 am #

      I’ve never really thought of that. They’re made pretty sturdy – It’s never been a problem on my end.

Leave a Reply

