Post Marathon Reflexion

26 Oct

I’ve had four days to recover and reflect. I’ve thought about my performance: what I could and should have done and also what I won’t do in the future. I’ve also thought about my nutrition, both before and during the run. What I’ve come to realize is that hindsight is always 20/20. I’ve done this with all my races and it’s hard to let go. I always say to myself: “I should have x, y,  and z.”  It normally results to “I should have ran faster” or “I shouldn’t have walked for that long.” Or whatever it may be, we all chastise ourselves for “shortcomings” during a race.

But I have to tell myself: “Hey, you were running a marathon! Don’t focus on what you should have done – focus what you have done! There is always next time.”

In regards to any future marathon, or long distance race, there are a few things that I will and will not do:

  1. I will never, if possible, run a long distance race alone. Running is incredibly lonely. Those hours on course get into your head and weigh down your motivation. I found I was a lot more motivated and kept a steady pace when I was running along side someone. However, it’s hard to guarantee that you will find a running buddy on course. So in the future, I will plan to participate in an event with a friend.
  2. I will pack more nutrition. I found that my 1 gel and 4 Powerbar gummies weren’t enough. I had Gatorade but my body wanted substance. Luckily there were jelly beans on course. A quick sugar fix that I might use in the future.
  3. I will always thank volunteers and spectators. Those people took the time to hand you water/Gatorade or anything else and cheer you on so I’m sure they appreciate a thank you. Of course most spectators are there to see a loved one or friend pass by, but they still chose to applaud, ring a cowbell or cheer you on nonetheless.
  4. I will not judge a runner by his/her size or age. Runners come in all shapes, sizes and ages. We’re all at the start line for the same reason so lets all be friends.
  5. I will have fun and enjoy the experience. Race day is your day. You have trained for months, made countless sacrifices, put your body through all kinds of strain and now is the time to enjoy the moment.
  6. I will pair travel and racing. There is no better way to enjoy  new scenery than to run through it. Participating in endurance events is a great way to see a new city or part of a country that you have always wanted.  You can run a race and stay the following few days to take in the sights and eat the local food.

Photography provided by Mark. American Niagara Falls and Peace Bridge.

In hindsight, there are certain things I wish I would have done during my marathon. But most of all, I’m happy that I accomplished the marathon distance. It is not so much an unattainable distance anymore. I know I can run it again and I most certainly will  in the next year. Stay tuned for that decision and training schedule in the next few weeks.

One Response to “Post Marathon Reflexion”

  1. Amy October 26, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Great reflection! I totally agree with pairing travel and racing. Pretty much all of our vacations right now are around marathons!

Leave a Reply

