Life in the fast lane

19 Oct

I went swimming last night and it was really busy. I had a disagreement with the swimmers in the medium lane where I normally swim. I know, how mature! But I maintain that I was right. I won’t get into the specifics but it ended with me moving to the fast lane. I’ve always been afraid of making the move to the fast lane. Mark insists that I could hold my own but I prefer to be the fast swimmer in the medium lane. I often tire and slow down half way through my swim which would not bode over well in the fast lane. Regardless, everyone in the fast lane was friendly and welcomed me. I don’t know why I thought they were scary and competitive because there were not. I enjoyed my swim and was actually motivated.

My life on Sunday, however, will not be in the fast lane. I’ve gone through my 12 step program for the marathon: admittance, denial, frustration, anxiety and acceptance. Ok, I know that isn’t the 12 steps but they’re my 5 steps to accepting that I am running a marathon. I am happy to announce that I am in the acceptance stage. However, I will be back in the anxiety stage at the start line until that gun goes off.

Mark’s best friend Sunday will be Frommer’s Guide to Niagara Falls.

I love working in a library. I would have never thought to pick up this gem if I wouldn’t have been shelving books in the travel section.

Leave a Reply

