One week countdown

15 Oct

Can you believe my marathon is only a week away? It seems like only a few days ago I was trying to decide in which marathon to participate. I had narrowed down by choices between two races: The International Niagara Falls Marathon and the Philadelphia Marathon. Both were equally appealing and I was drawn more towards Philadelphia. I had never been and what better place is there to run in the city of brotherly love? Also, my post marathon philly cheese steak sandwich would have been heaven. But I had to be sensible and think of our economic situation. Traveling to Philadelphia would be expensive and the drive would take us 8hrs each way. So, the next best choice was Niagara Falls. Over an hour away and we need only one nights accommodation, plus food.

I have to say that I’m looking forward to finishing this marathon. I really enjoyed my training until I injured my knee. I looked forward to my long runs on Saturday mornings and felt strong and confident after each one completed. My week day tempo or regular runs were also satisfying in the morning before the day’s humidity took over. I learned so much about what I can accomplish and felt great about myself. I was attempting to run a marathon! No one can take that away from me. Although the last portion of my training did not go according to plan because of my injury, I will still run and finish my marathon if I have to crawl across that line!

In Niagara Falls, Mark and I are staying at a bed and breakfast. This seemed like the best idea as it would be more “homey” and we have access to the kitchen any time we want. Also, I’ve never stayed in a bed and breakfast so I thought this seemed like the perfect opportunity. I might not be able to enjoy the wonderful breakfast that is provided by the owners of the  b & b, but once that marathon is complete I am off to IHOP for some waffles with strawberries and whip-cream. I will have a breakfast nonetheless.

Once Sunday approaches I’m sure I will be much more nervous but right now I’m feel calm and confident. I need to remember that I can do this and that I’m ready!

2 Responses to “One week countdown”

  1. Amy October 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Good luck on your marathon! Very exciting! I know I was a nervous wreak for a few weeks before mine, so you are very lucky to be calm! And yes, YOU CAN DO THIS!

    • Livin' active October 15, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you Amy! I’m not as calm as my post may have you believe. I just need to repeat ‘I can do this’ as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

