Sunday Bake Series: Chocolate Chip Zucchini loaf

1 Oct

Ok, I promise that I will not only be posting once a week with Sunday Bake Series posts. I’ve just been in a slump for the past week over an injury that will not heal this close to the marathon. I don’t even know what the injury is to take the proper precautions towards healing it. It’s in a bizarre spot: the tendon on the inside part right behind my knee. I think I talked about it last week. Well, it’s the same one. I’ve resorted to swimming so I can keep up my aerobic capacity. I swim over 2kms a day and pray that my leg will heal in one week. I would like to get one more 25km run in before the 21st of October. My last big run was 33km on September 14th. I can’t have over 4 weeks off before a marathon and I’m afraid that running just won’t cut it. I know the day after the marathon will hurt because my muscles will not be as prepare as I would have wanted them to be.

Also, not running the marathon is not an option. I’ve put too much time and sacrifice into this that I will not back out now. Despite this crummy situation, I am still determined!

This week I made a chocolate chip zucchini loaf and it was sooo good! Mark was skeptical about the zucchini but found himself pleasantly surprised! I was glad he liked it – just goes to show that you can get your dose of vegetables in any form. I took this recipe from LooneySpoons.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and cinnamon (each)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups packed, grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In one bowl, combine both flours, baking powder and soda, and cinnamon.
  3. In another bowl, combine sugar, eggs, apple cause, vegetable oil and vanilla. Stir in zucchini and mix until everything is moistened. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Spread batter evenly and bake for 50 minutes. I recommend using two smaller loaf pans for this recipe. Otherwise it will take close to an 1hr 30minutes and you will have 1 BIG loaf –  which is what I did without realizing.

October’s goals are: heal my knee, complete my marathon and have fun doing it, and post more!

 

Leave a Reply

