Running on empty

21 Sep

I know I’ve been neglecting my blog and this week hasn’t been exactly stellar on the motivation side of things either. Last Friday I ran 33km and today I could barely do 10km. I don’t know if I burned myself out or my hormones are kickin’ saying “That’s enough.” Regardless, it worries me for my 35km tomorrow. I’ve managed to stay relatively injury free despite little kinks and banged up toe nails (don’t worry, I won’t post any photos – they’ve gotten uglier). There is a little injury that is bugging me and it’s kinda painful when I run and walk. I don’t know what it’s called but it’s the ligament behind my knee, on the inside – you can really feel it when you bend your knees. Anyway, that injury has made it painful to run. Walking hasn’t made things easy either. I walk to and from work (2km each way) and then I walk all throughout my shift. In total it’s about 5hrs of walking. Not that I’m complaining but that doesn’t help the healing process of an injury. Anyway, this Friday will be spent icing that ligament in preparation for tomorrow’s run.

On a sad note, I fell off my bike yesterday. I’m ok, just a bit of road rash and a lot of hurt pride. I was at one of the busiest intersections in town and I couldn’t unclip my foot fast enough before I fell right over. I was waiting in the left turning lane so I’m sure 75% of the people in their vehicles witnessed the clumsy fall. I couldn’t face any of those drivers so I have no idea if they laughed at me or not. But I’m sure I made someone’s day.

I know it doesn’t look that bad but it’s in a pain-in-the-butt spot. My elbow also got it pretty good but it’s really hard to take a picture of your own elbow…

I hope everyone has a nice weekend. Sunday’s bake series should be something inspired by Anna Olson.

Leave a Reply

