Sunday bake series: Citrus raisin scones

19 Aug

I’ve decided to start a series of posts called the “Sunday bake series.” I do most of my baking on Sunday to prepare for a week of lunch snacks. So I’d like to share those recipes and ideas with you. The first installment of the series will be a bit different from what I envision because I actually did my baking yesterday (for company) and we only need snacks for a few days as we leave Wednesday for B.C.

Yesterday, a family friend of Mark’s visited our new apartment. It was my first time meeting him so I wanted to make a good impression. So, of course, I baked! I made scones to pair with tea or coffee and they turned out absolutely fantastic.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 2 tsp of lemon or orange zest (I used lemon)
  • 1 3/4 cups of flour (I mixed half with all purpose and half whole wheat)
  • 2 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • 1/3 cup of plain yogurt
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 raisins or currants

Directions:

  1. Mix sugar and lemon/orange zest. Keep 1 tbsp aside.
  2. Mix sugar mixture with flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.
  3. Cut in butter. Stir in yogurt, egg whites and raisins/currants until you can form a dough ball.
  4. Knead dough on lightly floured surface.
  5. Place dough on un-greased cookie sheet and pat into 8″ circle.
  6. Cut into 12 wedges before baking.
  7. Brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar/zest mixture.
  8. Bake at 375F for 25 minutes.

Don’t they look delish?!

In other news, training is going very well. I had an other 26km run yesterday and it instilled a lot of confidence. It was a little windy so that made the run a bit of a battle but I beat last week’s time by a few minutes and I didn’t walk as much. My knees also felt a lot better and didn’t slow me down as they did last weekend. One of my toe nails is discoloured, however. I had developed a blister under the nail about 2 weeks ago and now it’s purple. I’m not sure if it’s getting ready to fall off or what… It doesn’t hurt, it’s just really bizarre.

This week is going to be a little hectic. I leave for Ottawa Tuesday afternoon to attend a meeting on Wednesday. Mark will be meeting me in Ottawa Wednesday evening and we fly out to B.C. Thursday. I also have to find time to go on a few runs during the week so I don’t die on my 28km run on Saturday in Penticton.

I will be updated the blog while in B.C. but there won’t be a Sunday bake series post next week. On the other hand, there will be an Ironman race report to look forward to from Mark.

One Response to “Sunday bake series: Citrus raisin scones”

  1. Anita Mac August 23, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    A Sunday baking series can get dangerous – love baked goods!!!! :)

Leave a Reply

