Celebrations, food and friends

9 Jun

For a Friday, my work day was fairly normal. I worked most of my day alone because my colleague went to visit his parents for the weekend. I was looking forward to going home at the end of the day because Mark and I had planned a little date night. I had pulled out a whole chicken from the freezer and was really looking forward to mashed potatoes and steamed carrots.  But when I got home, I was faced a whole different scene and entrée.

I came home to the table set for two with flowers, lasagna, homemade brownies and presents!  Mark had decided to celebrate my birthday early as I won’t be here next weekend to celebrate on my actual birthday. The flowers are absolutely gorgeous (all my favourite colours) and the wrapping paper even matches! What a great man I have!

Later on, some friends visited and we ate Mark’s homemade caramel filled brownies. I was so proud of him; he made them from scratch! I couldn’t believe it.

I learned how to play Euchre  also. My partner and I kicked butt and won 10-4; I swear it was my first time playing! After a few glasses of wine and pints of beer we decided to call it a night. It was a good night for an early birthday celebration.

Leave a Reply

