Marathon training and schedule

6 Jun

Yesterday was day 1 of marathon training! I’ve already modified it… I fear this training is going to go through a lot of modifications.  But as long as I stick to running the weekly distances and getting the long runs in, I should be good.

Week 1 training:

  • Monday: off (30 minute swim)
  • Tuesday: Tempo 5k
  • Wednesday: off (30 minute swim)
  • Thursday: 10km
  • Friday: off
  • Saturday: 10km
  • Sunday: Brick (30km bike + 3km run)

I know this looks like a pretty intense schedule but I’m still in triathlon mode. I have a race June 24th! My good friend, Natalie, is going to come cheer me on. Mark won’t be able to make it due to his training schedule.

I have some serious soul searching to do regarding training. I may have to give up triathlon for the rest of the summer to focus on running. Otherwise I may just burn myself out when the longer running distances begin. I will have to re-assess this in a few weeks.

You can take a look at my full training schedule in an Excel sheet here:  Marathon training

2 Responses to “Marathon training and schedule”

  1. Amy June 6, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I just started training for a marathon too! Kudos to you for continuing to try and continue with tri training at the same time! Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

