Keep calm and run faster

13 May

As the days to my first race of the season are rapidly approaching, Mark found this really neat photo from one of the spectators from a race in San Diego this weekend. The race was a qualifier for the U.S. Olympic triathlon team. The photo can be found by clicking here and it’s the third photo.

This morning I had a great brick session. My bike ride went really well.  I felt strong throughout its entirety. On the run portion, I started slow to avoid last weekend’s mistake. I stopped half way to give my legs a little stretch and continued on. My last 200m was a sprint at which I ran at a comfortable pace (a little slower than a full sprint). But I remembered that photo “Keep calm and run faster.” So I kept breathing and just ran.

The afternoon was lovely. We sat on our friend’s balcony and had some drinks.

The boys enjoying their beer.

The girls enjoying some homemade iced-tea.

Homemade iced tea recipe (it’s pretty simple)

  • 2 green tea bags (or your favourite tea)
  • 3-4cups of boiled water
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of sugar (optional)

To make:

  • Place the 2 tea bags in a large bowl or tea pot with boiled water, lemon juice and sugar.
  • Let cool in the fridge until cool
  • Serve with ice and enjoy on a nice sunny day

Leave a Reply

