Where’s the motivation?

9 Apr

I have a serious case of the Monday blahs… Thankfully, I am not scheduled for school or work today.  I woke up with a sore throat and feeling really drained (despite sleeping for 10hrs). I think my body is trying to fight off a cold which is leaving me fatigued and unmotivated.  But I know, I can’t spend my day reading on the couch.  So, it’s time for some motivational videos.

The first was introduced to me by my good friend, Natalie. Ben Does Life

This video is motivating for me. It gets me really excited to start race season and compete.  Although I am not training for an Ironman, this video portrays the the ups and downs of any athlete on race day.  Life of a Triathlete

The story of Rick and Dick Hoyt is truly inspirational.  Rick Hoyt is physically challenged and unable to compete in endurance events. So his father, Dick, swims, bikes, and runs with his son so he can compete. They have competed in multiple running and triathlon events across the U.S. This video is really neat and moving.  You can see the joy is Rick’s face as he and his father are competing.  And Dick’s determination is extremely inspiring and moving; there is no way you can sit on your couch after watching this video. Team Hoyt

After watching those videos, it’s time to start packing my gym bag for a swim. I have regained motivation and I must remember that I need to get out of my comfort zone.  Comfort zone is reading on the couch for the afternoon.  Swimming for 30-45mins will bring me that much closer to my goal and forces me out of what feels natural.

Leave a Reply

