Earth Hour date and Sunday morning work out

1 Apr

Mark and I decided to go on a date Saturday afternoon that would continue on into Earth Hour. We went to the cinema to see The Hunger Games.  Both of us are big fans of the book so we were looking forward to seeing the movie. Mark is fairly critical of movies based off of novels. He did not like the Harry Potter movies so I wasn’t sure how he would like The Hunger Games movie. But it turns out, we both really liked the movie. Not much was omitted and most events from the movie were true to the book. So we were both satisfied and enjoyed the action, the directing, and all the small details that was the world of Panem.

For our Earth Hour date, we decided to have a fondue. This is our second year with this tradition. I have a candle powered fondue set which is perfect for 4-5 people. We are both chocolate fanatics but control our cravings most of the time. So last night was a perfect opportunity to eat all the chocolate we wanted. It was a nice quiet evening eating chocolate strawberries by candle light.

On to training now. I had a really good workout this morning. The weather is pretty yucky right now. It’s about zero with wet flurries changing to rain and back to flurries. So I really did not want to run in that; it is rather depressing. So I decided to go to the gym and run on the treadmill. I had a great run (compared to yesterday) but it was only for 4k. I did not want to run longer because my hamstring is still sore.

After a 30min, I went for a good swim. The pool was very busy but I felt motivated. I swam 200m and was happy so I said to myself: “Let’s see how much you can do until you tire yourself out. Let’s aim for atleast 300m.”  So I looked at the time and I was off. 300m and 6minutes later, my lungs were tired so I decided to stop. I was happy because my muscles were not tired. Now I just need to work on my anaerobics.

For this yucky spring afternoon, I am going to cuddle on the couch with my man and my cat, enjoy a nice cup of tea and watch an old film…we’ll see what I find on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

