Kiss me, I’m Irish

18 Mar

How do we kick off St. Patrick’s Day in Ottawa? With a race, of course! It was a chilly morning with thick fog (I was glad I wasn’t running). But my good friend,Natalie, was running and I went to cheer her on. She ran a 10k in 55min11sec: a personal best! I am so proud of her!

This was at the 9:00am start and it was still very hard to see. The fog made the air humid and cold (it was only +5ishC at the time).

Once the race was done, the sun came out (of course) but Natalie and I started on some school work. For a break, we went for a walk and did a bit of window shopping. I’m looking forward to buying a new wardrobe!

In the evening, I visited an old friend who was having a St. Patrick’s Day party. She had went all out! Green cupcakes, green candy, green punch and beer, and LOTS of food! Mark and I were home pretty early (10:30) – we are old, afterall! I drove home in the fog which was pretty scary but I was happy to make it home and hit the hay.

I wasn’t able to do any training yesterday (race, school work, then St. Patrick’s celebration). But I stayed on track for the most part.

Breakfast: 2 toasts, 1 tbsp peanut butter
Snack: 1 banana
Lunch: Butternut squash soup
1 toast with a tsp butter
Snack: Vegan oatmeal cookie from Bridgehead (local coffee shop)
Supper: 2 slices of homemade pizza and a salad
Goodies at the St. Patrick’s Party: a few gummy candies, some shrimp hors d’oeuvres, some tostitos chips and dip.

Overall though, I think I had some good self control!

I am going to enjoy the weather on Sunday with some running, a trip to the pool and a nice, long walk in sandals!

Leave a Reply

